Days 27, 28, 29…

March 19, 2010

Imagine yourself ordering a pizza from one of the two places in town that caters to vegans…and imagine the disappointment when, after a long day of working and cleaning, you open up the pizza only to find that you forgot to order vegan cheese. Yes folks, we took home a whole pizza before realizing that it was not, in fact vegan.

I’m not entirely sure what the average person would do, but Meera-let’s-be-crazy insisted that we pick every single trace of cheese off of that pizza.  “Seriously?” “Yes Chris, seriously.”  What that poor guy puts up with.  I mean, it wasn’t that bad for a pizza without cheese.  But it was still a pizza without cheese.  Which is hardly a pizza at all.

Flash forward to St. Patrick’s day.  I make some pasta with olive oil, red pepper, and a bit of balsamic vinegar (sounds weird, but you must try it – delicious).  And I’m feeling decent about putting together a pseudo-meal with ingredients we have on hand.  Of course, unbeknown to us at the time, when you eat dinner at 5:30, and then go out to celebrate birthdays, things that are green, and of course, our irish heritage, you are definitely hungry again before the end of the night.

So what do we do at 11:30 pm that night?  We do something completely against Meera’s character. Something she hasn’t done in years.  Something she chides other people for doing.  (And yes, I am talking in 3rd person, trying to disassociate myself from myself).  We go to Taco Bell.

I’m not trying to be snobby, or high and mighty, or anything like that.  I grew up eating Taco Bell on occasion.  The cheesy gordita crunch was always satisfying.  But there is something inherently contradictory about being vegan and eating Taco Bell.  Especially after preaching about how eating is about quality of food and not quantity

Lo and behold, we ended up getting some cheese-less bean burritos.  And guess what?  They tasted good, they satisfied, and overall prevented any crankiness.  I’m not saying that Taco Bell is the new gourmet, but when you’re hungry and your options are limited, it’s there. And we ate it.  And I’m not apologizing.

3 Responses to “Days 27, 28, 29…”

  1. tinako Says:

    I’m not ashamed to eat Taco-Bell burritos, but I decided they weren’t so great. They have that straight-out-of-the-can taste. Which they probably are.

    Do you like vegetables on pizza? It sounds like not, but if you do, load on the veggies and you probably won’t miss the cheese.

  2. meerawhat Says:

    I actually love veggies on pizza – I don’t really like pepperoni or canadian bacon, and sausage is okay, so I typically order a veggie lovers. Olives, mushrooms, and green peppers are my favorite! I do prefer “sauciness” to “cheesiness” on my pizzas, but a little bit of cheese does lend a lot of flavor (in my opinion)…I think it might be easier to get used to just ordering “no cheese” instead of having to worry about vegan cheese, etc. Thanks for the tip!

  3. SARA Says:

    meer you go girl, way to not apologize for eating TB. it’s okay to eat great, even late.


Leave a Reply

